The obligatory dawn prayer. It consists of two rakats (units), making it the shortest of the five daily prayers. 

Near to the time of the morning call to prayer (Adhan), a whiteness in the sky moves upwards from the east which is called the “first dawn”. When this whiteness spreads, it is referred to as the “second dawn”, which is the start of the prescribed time for the morning prayer. 

The end of the time for the morning prayer is when the sun rises.